First Occultist while new to this game

hey guys,

as the topic indicates i'm quite new to this game and i would love to discuss my current build which i created my self (you're seeing me standing proud :D).
So after leveling my char to 91 i started searching the internet for oppertunities to further max out my occultist. i realized that there are so many possible combinations, especially with many skills and uniques i haven't used at all yet or don't even know about, that i wish for professional help. :)

my character is all crafted around the cane of unrevelling which was one of my early self founds.

GEAR AND GEMS:

WEAPON:
Cane of Unreveling 6-link
Essence drain - controlled destruction - swift affliction - void manipulation - efficacy - empower

CHEST:
rare 6-link with life (nothing speacial -.-)
bane - despair - temporal chains - controlled destruction - efficacy - void manipulation

GLOVES:
Malachai's Mark -> i felt the need for ES on kill
contagious - void manipulation - efficacy - controlled destruction

BOOTS:
rares with life, movement speed and res
flame golem - chaos golem - life leech support and the discipline aura

BELT:
rare with ES, life, and res

RINGS AND AMULET:
rares with life, es and res
one of them is an unset ring and i use the socket for leap slam

HELMET:
the broken crowm for the chaos res
spell totem - multiple totem - blight - efficacy

FLASKS:
health - instant heal and anti poison
health - instant heal and anti freeze
the sorrow of the divine
quicksilver - increased charge recovery and faster movement
mana flask - instant heal and anti burning

SKILLTREE: