Witch Occultist CI Cold Snap

Hi there! So I decided to try and make a new build I've never tried before. CI Cold Snap Occultist. I have never played CI before, actually I've never played anything other than different variations of Cyclone Duelist (2h sword, dual-wield, facebreaker, etc). My idea is very simple - shatter an entire pack of enemies with just a single cast of Cold Snap while standing safely a screen away from them.
Rn I'm level 72, just finished the story and did some T1 maps. and the build works as intended. I have 6k ES (not much I know but I just crafted this gear to switch to CI and start doing maps, I hope it will improve soon). BUT. Here are my concerns:
1. The build is probably going to fall off pretty hard once I start running higher level maps. I've already picked up most of the offensive passives I wanted. Now it's time to grab some defensive nodes like more ES and spell block while holding a shield. What do I do to be able to one-shot enemies on higher tier maps?
2. I feel like my biggest problem rn is lack of dex. I can't level up my cold gems like hypothermia or Herald of Ice because of it, even tho I already picked up 2 +30dex and 1 +20dex nodes. My gear is pretty bad RN, outside of 6L 600ES Vaal Regalia which i bought for 2ex, everything else is self-found or self-crafted. I just simply used alt orbs until I got some ES, then Regal and master craft resistances which are barely capped. So I can't get dex on my gear atm. So I was thinking of anointing Utmost Swiftness for now, until I get better gear, is that a good idea?